Blog · Moje výtvory · tkanie

Hand woven kitchen towel

20171229_122500I am so excited with my new creation that I have to share it with you right now. It is a white -turquise tea towel i have just finished few minutes ago. It was woven on a rigid heddle loom using two heddles to increase the sett. I have used 10/2 mercerised cotton and two 12.5 epi heddles . It was my first work using such a thin yarn and also first time using two heddles. It was rather courageous from me, but I like challenges and the result is really above  my expectations.

First it was quite difficult for me to warp the loom correctly. I did it only wih the help of the book Inventive weaving on a rigid heddle loom. I would say that the explanations could have been more detailed but I suppose they were good enough for someone with more experiences in weaving ( which I am not). It was especially difficult for me to imagine the end result I should get and I was sure I have it right only after few picks…. The book also describes the warping from the back – first the front heddle and then the rear one. So far I have only done it in the different direction and only with 1 heddle.  I lacked the information about wheather it has some practical reason why to warp the loom in a particular direction. I still do not know …. for this project I decided to do it my usual way- first the back heddle and then the front one. I had to turn the book upside down to have the drawing corretly, it was rather funny.

For the towel I decided to use 2 contrasting  colours, I warped the loom with stripes of solid colours smd stripes with mixed colours ( 2 strands from each colour). I made a kind of a sampler . I wove each of  about 5 cm  stripes in different pattern, first weaving just plain weave, later experimenting also with structures lifting heddles. I found a lot of inspiration in the above mentionned book. I especially liked the zig zag pattern and the ribs pattern.

20171230_194222

When I finished the weaving I was quite afraid to put it away from the loom. I have never worked with such a fine yarn and I was afraid it would start unravel immediately. So I had my sewing machine ready to finish the edges with zig zag stitch as soon as the towel is down from the loom. I have to say that it worked perfectly, even there was no fraying after washing. I finished the towel with 2 ply hem, stitched with the sewing machine. I am so happy with it. I know it is just a towel but it is my first one and it turned out perfectly ( at least for me😀). I have some yarn left and I plan to make one more to pair it with.

20171230_193845

Pridaj komentár